Call the firm for a consultation 540-373-5300 Call the firm for a consultation 540-373-5300


Get In

Fredericksburg Office
404 Princess Anne Street
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22401

540-373-5300 Phone
540-373-5111 FAX

Quick Contact Form



Experienced DUI Lawyers in Fredericksburg, Virginia Fight to Keep You Out of Jail

Challenging blood alcohol tests and license suspensions with knowledge and persistence

Virginia is a tough state for those who drive while drunk or on drugs. When you’ve been stopped by the police and arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances, your personal freedom and ability to enjoy your life are at risk. In Virginia, the fines, jail time and other consequences of DUI convictions are often imposed on a mandatory basis. It is therefore vital to immediately contact an experienced DUI attorney upon arrest. At Woodbridge & Coleman, P.C. Attorneys at Law we represent drivers charged with DUI, using our knowledge and experience to challenge the circumstances, procedures and equipment used by law enforcement in connection with your arrest. We answer all of your questions and are capable of dealing with the diverse issues that arise when DUI arrests occur, including:

  • Multiple DUIs. If you have been arrested for DUI before, a second or third offense results in increased penalties. Multiple DUI offenders face larger fines and jail time.
  • Consent to Breathalyzer. You are required to consent to a breath test for alcohol as a condition of driving. This is referred to as implied consent.
  • Locking device for your ignition. DUI convictions in Virginia, including first offenses, require that you have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle to check your blood alcohol level before you start your car and at random intervals while driving.
  • Getting your license back. Your license to drive is revoked for a substantial period of time if you are convicted of DUI or other violations, including refusal to take a breath test or failure to comply with ignition interlock requirements. A petition for license restoration may be filed in court to have your driving privileges restored if you meet certain conditions.

A first DUI conviction in Virginia carries a $250 mandatory minimum fine and one-year license suspension. Fines and revocation of your license for longer periods result from conviction of subsequent offenses. Mandatory jail terms also apply for second and subsequent convictions in certain circumstances. You may face a jail term of up to one year for a second DUI conviction. These harsh penalties emphasize the importance of seeking legal counsel from a seasoned attorney.

Reckless Driving Lawyers in Fredericksburg, Virginia Handle Traffic Offenses with Knowledge and Passion

Providing capable assistance for drivers cited or arrested for violating traffic laws

Traffic violations for speeding and other infractions can lead to fines, points and, in serious cases, misdemeanor charges that, if you are convicted, result in a criminal record. The state of Virginia has a Uniform Demerit Point System that classifies traffic offenses as serious, relatively serious and less serious and assigns point values if you are convicted or found guilty. You can fight many traffic violations with the assistance of an attorney. At Woodbridge & Coleman, P.C. Attorneys at Law we help drivers who have been ticketed for traffic law violations, including:

  • Reckless driving. When you drive 20 miles per hour or more above the speed limit or in excess of 80 miles per hour regardless of the speed limit, you can be cited for reckless driving. You can also be cited for reckless driving regardless of your speed if you are driving in a manner so as to endanger any person’s life, limb or property. Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor and conviction results in a criminal record.
  • Speeding. Driving faster than the speed limit is a traffic violation even if you do not exceed the speed limit enough for it to qualify as reckless driving.
  • Improper passing. When you pass another vehicle going in the same direction, you need to maintain a distance of at least 2 feet to the left of the vehicle you are passing. In addition, you generally cannot move back to the right side of the road until you are safely clear of the vehicle you passed.
  • Aggressive driving. Driving aggressively is a misdemeanor. You can be found guilty of aggressive driving if you are a hazard to another person while committing one of several violations or committing one of these listed violations with the intent to harass, intimidate, injure or obstruct. The listed offenses include:
    • Speeding
    • Failing to observe lanes marked for traffic
    • Following too closely
    • Failing to stop or yield the right of way before entering certain highways
    • Evading traffic control devices
    • Violating limitations on overtaking and passing
    • Stopping on highways
  • Hit and run. Fleeing the scene of an accident is punished harshly. When the accident results in injury or death to another person or damage to another vehicle or attendant property, you are required to immediately stop and provide certain information to law enforcement and the persons injured or driving the damaged vehicle. Failure to do so or to comply with other provisions in the Virginia Code regarding the duty of a driver to stop in such situations is punishable as a Class 5 felony if the accident results in injury or death or more than $1,000 in damage to property.
  • Driving while your license is suspended or revoked. Driving when your license is suspended or revoked is a Class 1 misdemeanor that results in your license being suspended for an additional period of time. Multiple violations for driving while your license is suspended or revoked can result in more severe punishment, including jail time and fines. If you have a suspended or revoked license, it may be possible to have your license restored on a restricted basis that allows you to drive to and from your place of employment or school, for healthcare services and for other needs for which good cause is shown.

Contact DUI attorneys in Fredericksburg, Virginia if you are charged with driving under the influence or for refusal to take a breath test

At Woodbridge & Coleman, P.C. Attorneys at Law we provide a free initial consultation and vigorous defense for those arrested for DUI and related charges. Our office is easily accessible by public transportation with a bus stop nearby. We are located near the courthouses in Fredericksburg, Virginia. Contact us online or call us at 540-373-5300. We serve clients throughout the city of Fredericksburg and Caroline, Spotsylvania, Stafford, King George, Prince William, Fairfax, Culpeper, Westmoreland and Hanover counties.